Fuel System Check

After sorting out the Fuel Filler Neck Hose last night, I purchased a new Fuel Cap (Tridon TFNL207).  I also poured another 10 litres of 98 octane fuel into the tank tonight which gives me approximately 30 litres.  Now that this was all sorted it was time to power up the fuel pump and see what happened.

The pump started pumping away happily, however my focus was on the carburettors.  Within 10 seconds I could see fuel leaking from one of the connections.  A closer inspection showed that there was fuel leaking from 4 of the connections.  The pic below has the 4 connections circled in red.

fuel leaks

I tightened the four connections with a 1/2″ spanner and ran the pump again, however in order to access the front connection I had to remove the oil breather pipe.  Unfortunately when I removed it the gasket broke.  😦

Tightening the connections solved three of the leaks, however the front connection into the carburettor was still leaking.  I tightened as much as I was game….still leaking.  I then removed it and found that I could actually see where it was not making contact with the brass taper.  It actually looked like the flare was crooked, and was too large in diameter to seat properly so I filed it down a little, blew any filings out of the pipe and re-installed it.

It still leaked.  Grrrr

The only other idea I had was to try and bed it in against the mating taper.  I removed the pipe again and first looked at where it wanted to sit when it was tightened.  It did not line up with the connection on the log so I adjusted it.  I then tightened it up enough that it was a little stiff to rotate, and twisted it back and forth so it rubbed against the brass taper in the connection.  After doing this I removed it and could now see full contact around the taper.

I reinstalled the pipe and ran the fuel pump again.  I took it up to 3 1/2 psi, and this time there were no leaks.  Hooray.

I then had to reinstall the oil breather pipe.  As the gasket was damaged I had to use a thin smear of RTV silicone to make a gasket, after first cleaning everything with acetone.

At the end of it all, I believe I now have a functional fuel system.

Dealing with these things now means that I won’t get frustrated when it comes to start up.

Leave a Reply

