Not all Vibrations are Good Vibrations….

I noticed last time I ran the engine that the alternator had some vibrations happening at certain engine speeds.  In this case, any vibration is a bad vibration.  The alternator has a rear mounting bolt, which I thought could offer a solution.

IMG_3355

Tonight I had a bit of time so I decided to fabricate a rear mount to see if it would eliminate the problem.

I first cut a piece of hot rolled bar and also made a matching piece of cardboard.  The cardboard was to make a pattern of the bends I needed to make.

Once I had worked out the bends I made it so with the steel bar.  Unfortunately the bolt centre was offset to the existing mount, so I had to angle the bend to enable it to fit.  I tend to like order, so a ‘crooked’ bracket is not something I would happily make however in this case I had no option unless I wanted to start fabricating and welding.

After a bit of messing around I drilled the two holes required to link the exhaust manifold and the alternator rear mounting bolt.

IMG_3358

The mount was unlikely to reduce the vibration unless it was able to firmly hold the rear of the alternator so I drilled and inserted a second bolt to brace it all together.  After the holes were de-burred I gave it a coat of VHT Flame Proof Black and attached it.

IMG_3361

The alternator doesn’t have the same ring when you tap it now, which I hope is a sign of success.  Next time I run the engine we will see!

Leave a Reply

